*Last entry is an hour before closing


*Last entry is an hour before closing

About BRIT/FIVS International Sustainable Winegrowing Competition

Come join the competition!

Vieni partecipare al concorso!

Venez vous joindre à la compétition!

Ven y únete a la competencia!

Kom sluit aan by die kompetisie!

Venha participar da competição!


New for 2020, BRIT has teamed with FIVS, a Paris-based global organization designed to serve the wine, spirits, and beer sectors. FIVS will partner with BRIT to help manage and promote the growing international competition.

In addition, the competition and award name has also be changed to reflect FIVS’ expanded role. The new name of the competition is BRIT/FIVS International Sustainable Winegrowing Competition. It is still the only competition of its kind which recognizes of the bond between wine and botany and the need to distinguish wineries that truly embrace a “ground to glass” attitude towards sustainability. Where other competitions may focus on the end product – the wine itself – our competition, in addition to wine taste, focuses on a winery’s real-world application of the three tenets of sustainability: environmental, economic, and social.

To enter, submit our current year’s 20-question self-assessment application and provide a sample bottle of wine for judging. The overall winner receives BRIT’s iconic hand-blown glass award. Second and third place winners receive gold and silver medals, respectively. The overall winner is presented with the BRIT award in Fort Worth, Texas in March, during the Fort Worth Food and Wine Festival. All wineries that feel they are actively demonstrating a broad-based commitment to sustainability are encouraged to participate.

The 2020 competition begins May 1, 2019, with a submission deadline of September 30, 2019. If you are interested in applying, please check this page in May for an application.

Current and Past Competition Winners

For 2020, Crittenden Estate of Australia wins top honors in the new BRIT/FIVS International Sustainable Winegrowing Competition. Gold medals go to Vino Cono Sur, Chile and C.A. Henschke, Australia; Silver goes to Herdade dos Grous, Porugal and Valdivieso, Chile; Bronze medals go to ACW, Chile, Casa Relvas, Portugal, and Luis Felipe Edwards, Chile.

BRIT’s 2019 platinum winner is Casa Ferreirinha, a Portuguese reference brand in Douro Wines. Gold medals went to Sandeman, Portugal; Tasca D’Almerita, Italy; Jowler Creek Vineyard & Winery, USA and E. & J. Gallo Winery, USA. Silver goes to Ruffino, Italy.

The 2018 platinum winner was Alexander Valley Vineyards of Healdsburg, California. Bodega Catena Zapata, Mendoza, Argentina, gold; Franciscan Estates, silver; and Peach Creek Vineyards, bronze. E. & J. Gallo Winery received a gold medal as special recognition for its corporate-wide, multi-brand sustainability programs and for the organization’s industry leadership.

The 2017 platinum award goes to Yealands Family Wines of Marlborough, New Zealand. Gold medals go to Halter Ranch Vineyard, California; Bodega Tapiz, Argentina; and Château Couhins, France. Silver medals go to Muatori, Tenuta Villa Crespia, Italy; Grupo Matarromera, Spain; Bien Nacido Vineyards, California; and Ruffino, Italy.

The 2016 platinum award was presented to Les Vignerons de Buzet of Buzet-sur-Baïse, France with gold medals going to Sandeman and Casa Ferreirinha of Portugal.

The 2014 platinum award was presented to LangeTwins Family Winery and Vineyards of Lodi, California. Gold medal went to Les Vignerons de Buzet (France); silver went to Ampelidae (France); bronze medals went to Tenuta Oppida Aminea – Muratori (Italy), Azienda Agricola Maltese (Italy), and Red Caboose Winery (USA).

In 2013, Yalumba, Australia’s oldest family-owned winery, has become the first, non-U.S. winery to win the BRIT’s platinum, International Award of Excellence in Sustainable Winegrowing. Gold medal went to L’Olivera Winery (Spain) and there was a three-way tie for the silver medal between Vignerons de Caractère (France), Jackson Family Wines (USA), and Les Vignerons de Buzet (France).

Past winners also include: Trefethen Family Wines (2012), Parducci Wine Cellars (2011), and HALL Wines received the inaugural award in 2010.